TEFLIN Journal


TEFLIN Journal is currently accepting manuscripts for publication in Volume 28 No. 1 & 2, 2017. In the interest of regional variations and wider impact, quality submissions from non-Indonesian authors are highly welcome.

TEFLIN Journal is published by the Association for the Teaching of English as a Foreign Language in Indonesia and appears in both print and electronic version (open access). More than 1,000 of the printed copies are regularly distributed to participants of the annual TEFLIN International Conferences as well as other individuals and institutions working in the field of ELT. The journal is accredited "A" by the Indonesian Ministry of Research, Technology, and Higher Education, and is indexed in several international academic databases.

More information including submission guidelines can be found on our website, journal.teflin.org.

Submission deadline:
Volume 28 No. 1 --> December 1, 2016
Volume 28 No. 2 --> February 1, 2017

Manuscripts can be submitted via:
Email: journal@teflin.org, or
Website: journal.teflin.org

Thank you very much and we look forward to your submissions. 



Accredited “A” as a scientific journal under the decree of the Directorate General of Research Enhancement and Development, Ministry of Research, Technology, and Higher Education, dated 23 May 2016, No: 36a/E/KPT/2016, effective for five years from 23 May 2016

The journal has been indexed in several international academic publication databases, e.g. DOAJ, EBSCO, Proquest, Google Scholar, WorldCat and Indonesian Publication Index (IPI).

TEFLIN Journal is published twice a year in the months of January and July (ISSN 0215-773 X); harnessed around ELT, it publishes manuscripts within the fields of teaching English as a second or foreign language, English language teaching and learning, English language teachers' training and education, and English language and literary studies. 

Chief Editor: Utami Widiati

Associate Editors

Nur Hayati
Evi Eliyanah
Maria Hidayati
Nurenzia Yannuar
Flora Debora Floris
Junaidi Mistar
Zuliati Rohmah
Amreet Kaur Jageer Singh



Ali Saukah, Universitas Negeri Malang, Indonesia
Anne Burns, Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia
Arwijati Wahjudi Murdibjono, Universitas Negeri Malang, Indonesia
Azadeh Nemati, Islamic Azad University, Iran
Emi Emilia, Universitas Pendidikan Indonesia, Bandung, Indonesia
Fuad Abdul Hamid, Universitas Pendidikan Indonesia, Bandung, Indonesia
A. Gumawang Jati, Institut Teknologi Bandung, Indonesia
Helena I. R. Agustien, Universitas Negeri Semarang, Indonesia
Jack C. RIchards, The University of Sydney, Australia
Jayakaran Mukundan, Putra University, Malaysia
Jerry G. Gebhard, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, USA
Lawrence Jun Zhang, The University of Auckland, New Zealand
Lies Amin Lestari, Universitas Negeri Surabaya, Indonesia
Ma. Luz C. Vilches, Ateneo de Manila University, Philippines
Margaret Gearon, Monash University, Australia
M. Adnan Latief, Universitas Negeri Malang, Indonesia
Nenden Sri Lengkanawati, Universitas Pendidikan Indonesia, Bandung, Indonesia
Nur Mukminatien, Universitas Negeri Malang, Indonesia
Siti Wachidah Djawad, Universitas Negeri Jakarta, Indonesia
Suwarsih Madya,  Universitas Negeri Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Willy A. Renandya, National Institute of Education, Singapore
Yazid Basthomi, Universitas Negeri Malang, Indonesia


Editor and Administration Address: TEFLIN Publication Division, c.o. English Department, Faculty of Letters, Universitas Negeri Malang (UM), Jalan Semarang 5, Malang 65145. Telephone: (0341) 551312 Ext. 237. Fax (0341) 567475. E-mail: <journal@teflin.org>


TEFLIN Journal invites articles that have never been published elsewhere. Please see Guidelines for Article Contributors on the  inside back cover of this journal, and the Checklist for Article Writers provided at the back pages of this issue.


TEFLIN Journal is published by TEFLIN (The Association for the Teaching of English as a Foreign Language in Indonesia), coordinated by TEFLIN Publication Division (Division Coordinator: Yazid Basthomi)

Cover design by Sigit Selandono

Vol 27, No 2 (2016)

Table of Contents


Flora Debora Floris
Puji Astuti
Patrisius Istiarto Djiwandono
Soe Marlar Lwin
Heidy Selene Robles Noriega
Andhina W. Patriana, Sri Rachmajanti, Nur Mukminatien
Prihantoro Prihantoro